Gluten-Free Status/Product Update

Wednesday, July 18, 2007

Dietz & Watson Meats

Nearly all Dietz & Watson Meats are gluten free EXCEPT:
Rotisserie Style Chicken, Scrapple, Bockwurst, Fat Free Beef Franks, Gourmet Lite Franks, Gourmet Lite Beef Franks, Chicken Cordon Bleu, Chicken Florentine and Chicken Portabella.

All the rest of our meat products are free of wheat, rye, barley, and oat proteins.

Thank you for your interest in Dietz and Watson.

Dietz and Watson Sales Dept.

Thursday, April 26, 2007

Puffins Brand Cereal

Thanks for your email.
We do not consider our Original, Cinnamon or Peanut Butter Puffins Cereals to be gluten free because they contain oats.

The problem with oat products is not the grain but rather the harvesting & milling processes.

When oats are processed in the same facilities as wheat, a common practice in the U.S., contamination can occur even with the best cleaning protocol. Although more grain millers are producing gluten free oats, they are still very limited in availability.

Barbara's does not consider any of its products that contain oats to be gluten free.

The only Puffins cereal that is considered gluten free is the Honey Rice Puffins as it contains no gluten containing ingredients.

We hope you find the above information of use.

Fisher Nuts

Thank you for contacting us regarding Gluten in our Fisher products.

All of the Fisher Nuts & Crunches Snack Mixes contain gluten.

-Bayou Blend -Fiesta

-Golden Crisp -Honey Crunch

Also, Fisher Golden Roast (both salted & lightly salted) Peanuts
contain gluten.

However, our Unsalted Dry Roasted Peanuts DO NOT contain gluten,
only peanuts.

In addition, Fisher Dry Roasted Sunflower Kernels contain gluten.
(They use the same seasoning as the Golden Roast Peanuts). Our other
Sunflower products DO NOT contain gluten.

Finally our Fisher Nut Topping contains gluten as well.

The following products DO NOT contain gluten:
-Other Peanuts

-Almond Bark (both kinds)
-Butter Toffee Peanuts

-Honey Roasted Peanuts

-Mixed Nuts
-Hot & Spicy Peanuts
-Nuts & Fruits Snack Mixes
-Party Peanuts
-California Style
-Peanut Butter (Chunky & Creamy)
-Roasted (no salt) In-Shell Peanuts
-Salted In-Shell Peanuts
-Trail Style
-Spanish Peanuts
-Other Sunflower Nuts/Seeds
-Salad Buddies (no salt) Kernels
-Salted In-Shell Sunflower Seeds

Once again, thank you for taking the time to contact us. It is through consumer contacts, such as yours, that we are made aware of any potential problems. Our goal is to deliver a high quality product and at the same time, maintain full customer satisfaction.

Old Dutch Snack Foods

In response to your request, the following Old Dutch Foods items are gluten free:

1) Old Dutch Foods Original Regular Potato Chips
2) Old Dutch Foods Rip-L Potato Chips
3) Old Dutch Foods Original Ripples Potato Chips
4) Old Dutch Foods Dutch Crunch Potato Chips
5) Old Dutch Foods Restaurante Tostados Tortilla Chips
6) Old Dutch Foods Restaurante White Corn Tostados Tortilla Chips
7) Old Dutch Foods Restaurante Bite Size Tortilla Chips
8) Old Dutch Foods Restaurante Style Tortilla Chips
9) Old Dutch Foods White Popcorn
10) Old Dutch Foods Yellow Cheddar Cheese Popcorn
11) Old Dutch Foods White Cheddar Popcorn
12) Old Dutch Foods Puffcorn Curls
13) Old Dutch Foods Caramel Puffcorn
14) Old Dutch Bac'n Puffs

To our best knowledge, these products are free of wheat, rye, barley, and oats.

Noodles & Company

Thank you for your email. At Noodles & Company, we are concerned with the dietary needs of our guests and we are happy to assist you in your selection. The attached chart lists our gluten-free items. Please note that the noodles, sauces and preparation methods all contribute to the gluten content of our dishes and substituting rice noodles will not necessarily make the dish gluten free. We urge you to inform the manager of your dietary needs every time you come in. The Pesto sauce is gluten-free as are the rice noodles. However, it is very important that you let the staff know that you are on a gluten-free diet so they can prepare your meal appropriately.
Although we do our best to accommodate special requests, we would be remiss if we did not state that there is a slight possibility that cross-contamination can occur in our busy kitchens where several allergens are present. We urge you to inform a manager of your allergies every time you dine with us so the staff can take special precautions to help avoid cross-contamination.
We hope this information is helpful! Please let us know if you have additional questions.

Red Robin Menu

Thank you for your inquiry. Below is a list of gluten-free food item options from the Red Robin menu. Red Robin will do its best to customize orders to meet dietary needs. Hopefully there's something on this list you'll enjoy.

* Produce Items

* Guacamole

* Salsa

* Black Beans

* Turkey Breast Meat

* Beef patty

* Lettuce Wrap Burger

* Carnitas meat

* Grilled Chicken Breast Fillet

* Egg

* Turkey patty

* Grilled Salmon

* Rice

* Side of cooked vegetables

Current Entrees Revised

* Cobb Salad

* Crispy Chicken Salad, substitute crispy chicken with grilled chicken

* Fajita Pollo, minus corn strips.

General Information

* Red Robin will customize orders to meet dietary needs.

* Salad Dressings and mayo do contain vinegar in the ingredients list.
The vinegar is not malt vinegar.

* The Red Robin Seasoning is sprinkled on the beef patty after cooking.
The Seasoning does not contain wheat, barley, oat or rye glutens. It may contain naturally occurring glutamates. The beef patty can be ordered without Red Robin Seasoning. Please inform your server if you desire no seasoning.

* Corn strips, Bacon and Fries may be cooked in a common fryer.

Please bring this list of gluten free menu items with you when you dine with us and inform your server so that he/she can help meet your dietary needs.
Thank you for choosing Red Robin!

Thursday, March 01, 2007

Nestlé Toll House Semi Sweet Morsels

February 7, 2007
Thank you for contacting Nestlé. We welcome questions and comments from our consumers.The Nestlé Toll House Semi Sweet Morsels are gluten free.

For several years now Nestlé has been following a strict labeling policy with regard to any of the "Big Eight" allergens in our foods and incoming ingredients. We have insisted that our suppliers notify us if gluten is used in any of their ingredients and yet is not declared on their labeling. Thus, we believe that we have uncovered any potential uses of gluten containing ingredients.

Therefore, any Nestlé products will be fully labeled for any presence of gluten or gluten containing ingredients. We find that this message is much easier that our trying to maintain a positive list of products free of gluten containing ingredients.

We appreciate your interest in our products and hope you'll visit our website often for latest information on Nestlé products and promotions.

Jennifer Meininger
Consumer Response Representative

Thursday, February 22, 2007

Outback Steakhouse BBQ Sauce

(from NCSG member BW)


Thank you for the inquiry!
Our menu items are review by Cynthia Kupper, Executive Director of Gluten Intolerance Group of NA.
Our new BBQ sauce is gluten free. I hope this is helpful!

(message dated 1.16.07)

Tuesday, February 06, 2007

Tony Roma's Ribs, Seafood, Steaks

(from NCSG member CR)

Thank you for your email. Tony Roma's Barbecue Sauces, ribs and chicken are gluten free. Unfortunately, any additional information is not available at this time. (2/5/07)
Guest Relations

(note: do not expect that all servers will be aware of gluten issues - NCSG)

Thursday, September 21, 2006

Caribou Coffee

(From NCSG member CA)
Thank you for taking time to write us with your questions.
We at Caribou Coffee are sensitive to the needs of our customers with dietaryrestrictions, including gluten allergies. We are consistently working tomake these concerns known and to produce such nutritional information available more readily, however, we unfortunately do not have a list compiled. Coffee and espresso contain no gluten or soy, nor does regular or 2% milk, also, our flavored syrups are gluten-free. For this reason, our coffee of the day, lattes and cappuccinos are not considered serious gluten or soy risks. Also, our flavored syrups and chocolate syrups are gluten-free. No such claim can be made for our specialty drinks (Coolers, mochas, Wild drinks) as many ingredients (such as candy toppings) come from third party vendors. If you wish, these items can be made without topping to avoid these ingredients.

In regard to soy milk, please know this can be substituted for anybeverage that would contain 2% or skim milk normally. However, please note that our smoothies and Coolers contain milk protein in the base and no non-dairy substitute can be made for these beverages.

Please note that at Caribou, as at all restaurants, cross-contaminationis not an insignificant risk. We will do our best to accommodate yourdietary restrictions but remind you that the ultimate decision -- andresponsibly -- is yours alone. I hope this information is helpful to youas you make your coffee decisions. I have also passed yourcorrespondence to the Marketing department to consider in their future nutritional information offerings. If I can be of any furtherassistance, please let me know.

Thank you again for your inquiry and for making Caribou a part of your coffee experience!


Customer Relations Specialist
Caribou Coffee Company

Newman's Own

(From the celiac listserv)

Q. Over the past several years, Newman's Own has had numerous inquiries concerning celiac disease. Since that time, we have received a substantial quantity of technical information on this subject.

Based on this information, we feel the following Newman's Own products are gluten free:
Pasta Sauce
Say Cheese
Garlic and Peppers
Tomato and Roasted Garlic
Vodka Sauce
Pesto and Tomato Marinara (Venetian)
Marinara with Mushrooms
Sockarooni (Mushrooms, Onions, Peppers)
Bombolina (Basil)
Diavolo (Spicy Simmer Sauce)

Salad Dressings
Olive Oil and Vinegar
Light Italian Ranch
Caesar Balsamic Vinaigrette
Creamy Caesar Parmesan and Roasted Garlic
Two Thousand Island
Creamy Italian (Parmesanio Italiano)
Light Raspberry and Walnut
Light Red Wine and Vinegar
Light Balsamic Vinaigrette
Light Caesar Dressing

Roasted Garlic
Peach Pineapple
Tequila Lime

Microwave Popcorn
Natural Light
Butter Boom
94% Fat Free
White Cheddar Cheese
Popcorn - Jars (Regular Pop)

Pink Lemonade
Lemon Aided Ice Tea
Gorilla Grape
Razz-Ma-Tazz Raspberry Juice Cocktail
Orange Mango Tango
Apple Juice
Grape Juice

KA-ME Asian Foods

(From NCSG member CR)

Thank you for your e-mail. We have several KA-ME products that can be considered gluten free but are not marketed as such. The reason being that the manufacturers also produce other products and they can not guarantee that there will not be any cross contamination.

The following items in our Kame line are made with a modified corn starch:
Thai Style Chili Sauce
Sweet & Sour

Panera Bread

(From NCSG member CA)
Thank you for contacting Panera Bread. I have included below a list of our gluten-free menu items. Not all of these items are currently on our menu and some new menu items have not yet been evaluated for the purposes of this list. However, you can find complete ingredients listings for all current menu items on our website. Click on Menu and Nutrition, the category (breads, soups, etc.) and on the individual item. A page with that item's ingredients and nutritional content will be displayed.Thank you again for contacting us. We appreciate your business and value your comments.
Customer Comment Coordinator
****Although we do our very best to meet your special requirements, we cannot rule out the possibility of cross contact between these items and gluten-containing foods in our bakery-café.
Salads: (including the salad dressing)(source of modified food starch is corn)
Greek SaladFandango Salad
Caesar Salad (without croutons)
Asian Sesame Chicken Salad (without Won Ton noodles)
Classic Cafe' Salad
Strawberry Poppyseed Salad
Strawberry Poppyseed Salad with Chicken
Bistro Steak Salad
Fuji Apple Chicken Salad
California Mission Chicken Salad
Soups:Moroccan Tomato Lentil
Santa Fe Roasted Corn
Vegetable and Sirloin Beef
Vegetarian Black Bean
Vegetarian Lentil
Mesa Bean & Vegetable
Cuban Black Bean Soup
Vegetarian Roasted Red Pepper & Lentil
Salad Dressings:
Balsamic Vinaigrette
Raspberry Vinaigrette
Asian Sesame Vinaigrette
White Balsamic Vinaigrette
Mission Fig Balsamic Vinaigrette
Juice, both apple and orange
Soda, fountain and bottled
Tea, regular and Chai Tea
All lattes

Tuesday, July 25, 2006

Georgia-Pacific Paper Towels

(from the Celiac Listserv July 9, 06)

Thank you for emailing the Georgia-Pacific Consumer Response Center. Georgia-Pacific places tremendous importance on the feedback we receive from our consumers.

I can help you regarding your gluten question. I, too, have celiac disease and understand your concern. The bath tissue and paper towels do not have gluten in them. Gluten is in the adhesive only that is at the beginning of the roll and at the very end of the roll. I cannot tell you if/how to use our products however I use them with the exception of the beginning and end sheets. I have never experienced a problem. However, yes there is gluten in the adhesive. You will need to use your best judgment.

Have a great day!
Consumer Response Center
800-283-5547Ref #387183

Honeysuckle Turkeys and Gravy

(response received by an Anoka celiac support group member)

Subject: RE: Honeysuckle White Contact Request

Thank you for contacting Honeysuckle White.
Yes!!! Our turkeys and gravy are gluten free!! :)
I hope this helps!
Most Sincerely,
Cargill Meat Solutions
More information regarding gluten-free status of honeysuckle products can be found on Go to "FAQ" and then "Nutrition".

Budwiser Beer


Looking for the new gluten-free beer brewed by Anheuser-Busch? Ask for Redbridge Beer. It is brewed from sorghum, and is especially made to be gluten free.

(original post)

In response to the question “Can celiacs drink Bud Light, since it is brewed with rice?”

Thank you for taking the time to visit our Web site and e-mail Anheuser-Busch. We truly appreciate your interest in our products.

As you know, glutens (gliadin, hordein and gluten) are protein substances which are found in some of the cereal grains - i.e., wheat, rye, oats and barley - used to brew beer. All Anheuser-Busch beers are brewed using a percentage of barley malt.

At this time, there does not appear to be a consensus in the medical community on whether Celiac patients can drink beer. As it would not be appropriate for us to provide medical advice, we suggest that you consult with your physician before adding any of our products to your diet.

Again, thank you for e-mailing Anheuser-Busch. We hope that this information is helpful. Please let us know if you have additional comments or questions!

Your Friend at Anheuser-Busch
1-800-DIAL-BUD (1-800-342-5283)

Wishbone Salad Dressings

(From an Anoka celiac support group member)
I just got off the phone with Wishbone. The nutritionist was very knowledgeable about the celiac diet and allergens. She said that if anything in their products is derived from wheat, rye, barley (and I think oats) it is noted as an allergen. And, if they used malt flavoring, she said it would be noted in parenthesis as barley!
So, folks, you can Salad Spritzer away!

Bird's Eye Frozen Vegetables

Thank you for inquiring about the nutritional information of Birds Eye products.
Most of our packages are clearly labeled with allergen statement; please refer to this or the detailed ingredient statement for gluten-containing ingredients. Our Comstock & Wilderness pie fillings and other plain vegetables are gluten free. Most other products, such as those containing sauces or pasta should be clarified before each use.
We hope you will continue to use our products and try some of our other ones.
Consumer Relations
Birds Eye Foods

Free Website Counter
hit Counter